Halal & Haram Food
Prophet Muhammad (Sallallaahu`Alaihi Wasallam) is reported
to have said:
Halal is clear and Haram
is clear; in between these two are certain things that are suspected. Many
people may not know whether those items are Halal
or Haram. Whosoever leaves them, he is innocent
towards his religion and his conscience. He is, therefore, safe. Anyone
who gets involved in any of these suspected items, he may fall into the
unlawful and the prohibited. This case is similar to the one who wished
to raise his animals too close to a restricted area, so that the animals
may step into that area. Indeed for every landlord there is a restricted
area. Indeed the restriction of Allah (Subhanahu Wa Ta'ala) are the Haram."
(Sahih Bukhari & Sahih Muslim)
is a Quranic term which means allowed or lawful. Halal
foods and drinks are permitted for consumption by Allah (Subhanahu Wa Ta'ala).
Eating Halal is obligatory on every Muslim.
is a Quranic term which means prohibited or unlawful. Haram
foods and drinks are absolutely prohibited by Allah (Subhanahu Wa Ta'ala). Eating Haram
is forbidden for every Muslim.
is an Arabic term which means suspected. If one does not know the Halal
or Harm status of a particular food or drink, such a food or drink is doubtful.
A practicing Muslim prevents herself/himself from consuming doubtful things.
Halal Food Selection Guide
For a product to be Halal(lawful) for Muslim
consumption all of its ingredients should be Halal.
Following are some general guidelines with a partial list to keep in mind while doing shopping:
- Read the ingredients on label carefully. Ingredients are listed according
to the amounts present. The first ingredient listed is present in the largest
- Identify the Halal/Haram/Mushbooh status of each ingredient using this guide.
- Search the ingredient name in the list and its status will be next to it.
- If all ingredients of a product are Halal, the product is fit for Muslim consumption.
- If any of the ingredient is Haram, the product should not be consumed.
- If any ingredient falls under Mushbooh category avoid this product, as the
Prophet Muhammad (Sallallaahu`Alaihi Wasallam) has advised us
to avoid doubtful matters. This ingredient could come from a Haram source. To find out the status
of this ingredient you should write or call the manufacturer of the product
|Ingredient ||Status |
|Ammonium Sulfate||Halal |
|Ammonium Chloride||Halal |
|Animal Fat||Haram |
|Animal Shortening||Haram |
|Ascorbic Acid||Halal |
|Bacon (Pork)||Haram |
|Benzoate/Benzoic Acid||Halal |
|Calcium Carbonate||Halal |
|Calcium Sulfate||Halal |
|Citric Acid||Halal |
|Cocoa Butter||Halal |
|Collagen (Pork)||Haram |
|Corn Meal / Corn Starch||Halal |
|Corn Syrup||Halal |
|Dextrin / Dextrose||Halal |
|Dicalcium Phosphate||Halal |
|Diglyceride (plant)||Halal |
|Ethoxylated Mono-/Di Glyceride||Mushbooh |
|Fatty Acid||Mushbooh |
|Ferrous Sulfate||Halal |
|Fungal Protease Enzyme||Halal |
|Gelatin / Kosher Gelatin||Haram |
|Glycerol / Glycerin||Mushbooh |
|Glycerol Stearate||Mushbooh |
|Gum Acacia||Halal |
|Hydrogenated Oil||Halal |
|Hydrolyzed Animal Protein||Mushbooh |
|Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein||Halal |
|Lecithin (commercial)||Halal |
|Malto Dextrin||Halal |
|Monocalcium Phosphate||Halal |
|Mono Saccharides||Halal |
|MSG (Monosodium Glutamate)||Halal |
|Nitrates / Nitrites||Halal |
|Nonfat Dry Milk||Halal |
|Oxalic Acid||Halal |
|Vegetable Oil||Halal |
|Partially Hydrogenated Vegetable Oil||Halal |
|Pectic Materials||Halal |
|Phosphoric Acid||Halal |
|Potassium Benzoate||Halal |
|Potassium Bromate||Halal |
|Potassium Citrate||Halal |
|Propionic Acid||Halal |
|Renin / Rennet||Mushbooh |
|Soy Protein||Halal |
|Soybean Oil||Halal |
|Tricalcium Phosphate||Halal |